News Release Publications Contributions Contacts Site Map Forms Login
 About DJNF 
 Recommended Links 
 Board of Directors 
 Annual Report 
 Contact Us 
 News Releases
Annual Report
Winning photo by Sam Casillas

Winning photo by Nathaniel Taylor

Stories and Photos Win Workshop Scholarships

Each year, the Newspaper Fund sponsors a competition to award $1,000 scholarships to the best writers and photographers for their published work in the newspaper or Web site during the summer. Professional journalists served as judges.

They were: Enrique Lavin, weekend arts and entertainment editor at the Star Ledger, Newark, N.J.; Norma Sumarnap Kneese, a journalism teacher at Snake River High School in Blackfoot, Ida., and Richard Taliaferro, a copy editor at The Wall Street Journal. Mr. Taliaferro is a 1996 copy editing alumnus of the Fund. Mrs. Kneese is a 2004 Special Recognition Adviser.

Writing Winners
Baxter Holmes, The Oklahoma Institute for Diversity
He flew to Mississippi to cover a championship native stickball game played by Choctaws.

Jessica Camacho, University of Texas at El Paso Urban Newspaper Workshop
She looked sensitively and maturely at a DWI crash that killed a 2-year-old girl's parents.

Roelle Balan, the Bay Area Multicultural Media Academy
She told the story of Victoria Manalo Draves, an 80-year-old Olympic gold medalist who was finally honored by the city of San Francisco.

Roxanne DeFord, San Antonio College UJW
She brought urgency to the topic of date rape capturing the raw emotion of a 17-year-old victim buttressed by statistics, analysis and advice.

Photography Winners
Sam Casillas, UJW at University of Texas at El Paso
He shota black and white picture of a youth drinking from water on a hot day to accompany a story on the dangers of summer heat but wound up creating a work of art.

Nathaniel Taylor, AHANA Urban Journalism Workshop at the University of Missouri
He knelt to frame wares at a yard sale in the foregorund of a picture of homeowners Steve and Janice Friesen.

2004 Summer Workshops Writing Winners
These students received their scholarships in 2005.
Joe Kye, Seattle Urban Newspaper Workshop
Breanca Thomas, Oklahoma Institute for Diversity in Journalism
Monica Rojas, Eastern Illinois University/Illinois Press Foundation Workshop
Elizabeth Ohito, Minnesota Media Collaborative Workshop at St. Thomas University

President's Report
Executive Director's Report


College Student Programs
Scholarship Assists 2nd Intern
News and Sports Editing Interns
Business Reporting Interns

High School Student Programs
Marquette Workshop Turns 20
2005 Workshops (AL - KY)
2005 Workshops (MA - WI)
Workshop Competitions
High School Newspaper Project

High School Teacher Programs
Teacher Award Winners
Teacher of the Year Excerpts
Student Scholarship Winners

About the Fund
2005 Financial Report
Proposal Deadlines

Click here for PeopleLine! Click here for the latest news updates! Click here to see the Publications section. Click here to make a Contribution. Click here to contact us via E-mail! Click here to see the DJNF Site Map. Click here to find helpful industry links.


� 2006 Dow Jones & Company.��All Rights Reserved.