News Release Publications Contributions Contacts Site Map Forms Login
 Workshop Directory 
 Teacher Fellowships 
 Teacher of the Year 
 Urban High School 
 Newspaper Project 
 Adviser Update 
 Related News 
The deadline is fast approaching for the 2007 National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year Awards program. Download a nomination form by clicking here. All nominations and materials must be postmarked by July 2, 2007.

When the Dow Jones Newspaper Fund was organized in 1958 it took training high school journalism teachers as its first mission. It offered fellowship opportunities for summer journalism study on college campuses. The most enterprising of these teachers entered a national competition showing how what they had learned helped their students. The teacher with the most compelling case became the first National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year.

Forty-eight teachers have held the honor. View a list of these winners in the Honorees section of this site.

The form is also on the TeachersCount Web site, which provides ways to celebrate teaching and recognize the teaching profession.

Alan Weintraut of Annandale High School in Annandale, Va., is the 2006 National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year.

He received a plaque, Teacher of the Year pin and a MacBook Pro at the Journalism Education Association/National Scholastic Press Association convention in Nashville on Nov. 11. For excerpts of his remarks go to Journalism Teachers Rise to Challenges and read more about him at Poynter High.

He will attend a seminar with professional journalists at the Poynter Institute for Media Studies in St. Petersburg, Fla. He and the Distinguished Advisers receive year-long subscriptions to The Wall Street Journal Classroom Edition. His last appearance as Teacher of the Year will be at the convention of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication in August in Washington, D.C.

Mr. Weintraut advises the A-Blast, a Pacemaker-winning newspaper and , a fully loaded site with podcasts, video and special reports. He was named an Educator of Distinction by the National Society of High School Scholars and serves as a panelist on the Knight-Carnegie project at Harvard University examining youth news consumption.

He was chosen Teacher of the Year by a panel which included Diana Mitsu Klos, senior project director for the American Society of Newspaper Editors; Monica Hill, Scholastic Division head for the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication and executive director of the North Carolina Scholastic Media Association; Richard Johns, executive director of Quill and Scroll Society and lecturer at the University of Iowa School of Journalism; Linda Ballew, 2005 National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year, and Julia Wallace, editor of the Atlanta Journal-Constitution and chair of the American Society of Newspaper Editors High School Education committee.

Also honored in Nashville: Distinguished Advisers: Paul Kandell, Palo Alto (Calif.) High School; Sherri Andrews, North Broward Prep Schools, Coconut Creek, Fla.; Kim Green, Columbus (Ind.) North High School; Jim McGonnell, Findlay (Ohio) High School.

Special Recognition Advisers: Beth Ann Brady, Ladue Horton Watkins High School, St. Louis, Mo.; Stephen Chiger, University Academy Charter School, Jersey City, N.J.; Martha Herring, Carolina Forest High School, Myrtle Beach, S.C.; Nancy Smith, Lafayette High School, Wildwood, Mo. and Tracy Anne Sena, Convent of the Sacred Heart High School, San Francisco.

Click here for PeopleLine! Click here for the latest news updates! Click here to see the Publications section. Click here to make a Contribution. Click here to contact us via E-mail! Click here to see the DJNF Site Map. Click here to find helpful industry links.


©2007 Dow Jones & Company. All Rights Reserved.